Skip to content

Napa in the Fall

November 2, 2010

This time of year is one of my favorites!  Leaves changing, air is crisp, apple pies, pumpkins.  I LOVE FALL!  Only, in San Diego, there are no leaves changing and that’s about one of the best things!  Thinking ahead, James and I planned to visit Napa in the fall.  We just got back.  Leaves were changing, it was raining and I LOVED every minute of it.  James had to work in Denver the week leading up to our trip, so we met in San Francisco.  After walking around the Marina Distrcit, we had dinner at this great little place called “The Grove”.  It was a perfect spot to start our trip.  Inside was like a warm cozy ski lodge and the food was all the homecooked comfort food you know and love.  This part of town is very cool with great little shops, fun bars and trendy restaurants!  If I lived in San Francisco, this would be the place to stay!

The next morning we got up and hit the vineyards.  Our first stop, Rombauer.  We have history with Rombauer and it’s one of our FAVORITE ones.  Back when James and I first started dating, I brought his parents a bottle of wine the first time I went home with him.  I knew they loved wine and could talk serious wine talk.  Getting a wine that they would like was going to be a challenge!  Luckily, I did have a little help, but this bottle of wine was a huge success…or so I’m told!  Anyway, it was a Rombauer and the Duntons loved it!  Whew!  The winery was just as great and ALL the wines were incredible.  So much so, I wanted to return the next day.  (We didn’t.)

From there we went to check out the Geyser in Calistoga…total BUST!

Then found a great pizza place and caught some of the Auburn game!  After that, we headed to Trinchero briefly before making it to our Robert Mondavi Wine Tour.  Recommended my a friend of ours, we are so glad we did this!  Here’s some pictures.

 

The next day was a bit more laid back and we had time to go to a favorite lunch stop by many…Oakville Grocery Co.  A few more vineyards and we were on our way back to San Francisco and made a quick run onto the Golden Gate Bridge!

I can’t wait to go back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

