Skip to content

Thankful for…

May 4, 2011

There are so many things to be thankful for and I often contemplate those things when I’m running or outside.  Always outside.  It calms me and my mind can rest and reflect on those things larger than the day to day hassles in life.  Today, I walked down the street to a little park.  It overlooks the ocean and the sun sets ahead and to the right a little bit.  Big and brightly shining, ready to dip below the water.  People come there with their dogs and throw the frisbee, couples come and share a park bench and kids come and run in circles, just happy for the day.  It’s a great place to go and I don’t know why I don’t go more often.  I sat there promising myself that I will.  I’ll make a habit of it and James and I can throw the frisbee or bring some wine and cheese.  We can walk or ride our beach cruisers.  It’s why we live here after all.  The best part of sitting on this big rock near the edge of the cliff was the silence of the night, the stillness in my mind just relaxing and taking it in.  Three surfers sat out in the water catching the last waves before the darkness of the night.  But my absoloute FAVORITE part was each time the waves pulled back from the shore, the water danced among the rocks and made a beautiful peaceful noise.  My shoulders relaxed and I smiled every time!  And I’m thankful that I can go and sit and listen and be still and the worries from the day can vanish from my mind.  I really needed that today.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karen Quinn permalink
    May 6, 2011 6:35 PM

    So nice to know that you truly enjoy the lovely setting that you live in!

Leave a Reply

